AFTLD Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (Excom) will be elected by the General Assembly to run the organization in accordance with the wishes of the AFTLD Members It is also the board of the company limited by guarantee that provides the legal structure for AFTLD.

The Excom is led by a Chairman. The functions of the Excom are defined in the AFTLD Constitution.
Current Members
Profile of Vika Mpisane

Vika Mpisane

General Manager,
.za Domain Name Authority
Appointed June, 2006

Vika Mpisane is the General Manager of the .za Domain Name Authority (.za DNA), the country code Top Level Domain (ccTLD) Manager for South Africa’s domain name. He has broad experience in policy development in areas such as trade and industry, economic policy, labour, education and ICT development.

In addition to his role at .za DNA, Vika is currently the President/Chairman of the Executive Committee of African Top Level Domains (AfTLD). He has previously served in this Committee in various capacities since June 2006. In October 2008, he was elected as a Councillor in the ccNSO Council with his term commencing in March 2009. Previously, he worked as Manager for Public Sector Marketing at Cortell International (a business software consulting firm in South Africa).

Before Cortell, he operated his consultancy focusing on socio-economic research and policy development. He also worked as Programmes Director of NEDLAC (National Economic Development & Labour Council), a statutory body established to provide a negotiation platform for the SA government and its social partners (organized labour, organized business and civil society).

He also worked as a Transformation Officer at the University of Natal in SA, where he coordinated university-wide change programmes. A former member of the Students Representative Council and the branch executive committee member of the SA Students Congress at this University, Vika graduated with a B.Proc (undergraduate law) and LLB (Honours law) degrees in 1998.

Profile of Eng. Abibu Ntahigiye
Abibu Ntahigiye,

Manager, tzNIC
Appointed April, 2009
Eng. Abibu Rashid NTAHIGIYE is the Manager of Tanzania Network Information Centre (tzNIC) - the National registry for dot tz domain space. He studied Electrical Engineering (both light and heavy current) at Faculty of Engineering – University of Dar es Salaam from 1988 – 1993.

He worked with the department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Dar es Salaam for three years as a Researcher and/or Junior Development Engineer. He later joined SITA – a worldwide Airline’s data telecommunication company where he worked for 11.5 years. While at SITA he worked in various capacities from Customer service support specialist, Technical customer support specialist, Service centre Manager to Country Manager.

Eng. Ntahigiye joined tzNIC in March 2008. In his capacity as a Manager of tzNIC, he is responsible for control and management of the day-to-day operations of the company based on the Company’s objectives; coordination and development of mechanisms and strategies for operations and promotion of dot tz registry; ensuring tzNIC involvement and coordination with national, regional and international organizations in the formulation and implementation of Internet policies that are of interest to the Tanzanian Internet Community; preparation of tzNIC plans and budget. He is also the Secretary to tzNIC Board. He is fluent in both English and Swahili.

Profile of Dr. Paulos Nyirenda

Dr.Paulos B.Nyirenda
Director of Research

Manager, .MW Registry
Appointed June 2006

Dr Paulos Nyirenda holds a PhD in Electrical Engineering. He is currently National Coordinator of Malawi SDNP, Manager of .mw ccTLD, NIC.MW and
ccNSO Council member representing Africa Region.

He is also a member of AfriNIC PDP-MG and Chair of Malawi Internet Service Providers Association

Profile of Oumtanaga Souleymane
Oumtanaga Souleymane
Strategic Partnerships

Manager, NIC-CI
Appointed April, 2006
Mr Souleymane oumtanaga has been the General Manager of Côte d’Ivoire Network information Centre (NIC-CI) since 1992.
Beside the NIC-CI, he is professor at the INP-HB (national Polytechnic Institute Felix Houphouët-Boigny), one of the most prestigious tertiary institutions in Côte d’Ivoire.
He has also been the head of:
- CFTIC (Training centre for Information and Communication Technologies) forming in Engineering studies and Post-graduate Diploma in computer networking and Telecommunication- EDIA ( Doctoral School of Computer Sciences) in partnership with UCAD Dakar (Senegal) and the University of Rennes (France)
He also member of the LARIT (Computer and Technologies Research Lab).
He is the initiator of many projects such as:
- The AI3L (Ivorian Association for Linux and the free softwares)
- The Côte d’Ivoire Internet Exchange Point (CIIXP)

Former Excom. Members

Vicent Ngundi
Appointed April 2009

Michuki Mwang
Kenyan Network Information Centre KENIC
Appointed June 2006.

Dr. Nashwa Abdelbaki
.EG Registry - Appointed June 2006

Ms. Malebogo Lekoape
Appointed April 2008

Victor Ciza
Administrative Manager of .BI Registry
Appointed June 2006

Yann Kwok
General Manager of NIC-MU, Mauritius
Appointed December 2002 - Term Ended in 2006

Adrissa Badiel
.BF Registry - Appointed June 2006 - Term Ended in 2008

Haja Rambosalama
.MG Registry - Appointed June 2006 - Term Ended in 2008

Dr Nii Quaynor
General Manager of Network Computer Systems Limited
Appointed May 2003

Brian Longwe
Kenya Network Information Centre KeNIC
Appointed May 2003

Maïtre Neil Pillay - Secretary
Member of the Mauritius Bar
Appointed December 2002

Africa Top Level Domain "AFTLD" Organization - Copyrights 2006
email webmaster@aftld.org